How to Remove Annoying “Pop Up” Warnings & More in Lion

Following on from my iTunes rating tip last week, I thought you may like a collection of my favourite ‘defaults’ commands to change hidden Mac Preferences.

Useful ‘defaults’ Commands to Change Hidden Mac Preferences

Have you ever wanted to remove an annoying ‘pop-up’ warning or dislike having to re-confirm an action in the Finder?

Most of these pop-ups, warnings and verification windows can be disabled and other features enabled using unix commands.

The Terminal application is located inside /Applications/Utilities on your Mac computer and allows you to write to preference (.plist) files to change settings on your Mac.

All you need to do is open this application and at the Terminal prompt ($), enter ‘defaults write’ followed by the name of preference you wish to change, and the new value. Then press the Enter key.

For example:

change preferences

There are many of these settings you can change, but here are a collection of what I think are some of the most useful in Mac OS X Lion:

Make Dock icons of hidden applications translucent
defaults write com.apple.dock showhidden -bool true

Enable iTunes track notifications in the Dock
defaults write com.apple.dock itunes-notifications -bool true

Disable the “Are you sure you want to open this application?” dialog
defaults write com.apple.LaunchServices LSQuarantine -bool false

Enable AirDrop over Ethernet and on unsupported Macs running Lion
defaults write com.apple.NetworkBrowser BrowseAllInterfaces -bool true

Avoid creating .DS_Store files on network volumes
defaults write com.apple.desktopservices DSDontWriteNetworkStores -bool true

Disable the warning when changing a file extension
defaults write com.apple.finder FXEnableExtensionChangeWarning -bool false

Disable the warning before emptying the Trash
defaults write com.apple.finder WarnOnEmptyTrash -bool false

Empty Trash securely by default
defaults write com.apple.finder EmptyTrashSecurely -bool true

Show the ~/Library folder
chflags nohidden ~/Library

Disable local Time Machine backups
hash tmutil &> /dev/null && sudo tmutil disablelocal

Viewing additional system info at the Login window which were available in 10.6 but removed in clean install of 10.7. Click on the top right hand corner clock for details.
sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.loginwindow AdminHostInfo HostName

NOTE – I highly recommend that you perform a full backup of your hard disk before modifying any preference files settings.

Please also note that some of these settings may be reset after applying the next Apple 10.7 OS update.

Happy tweaking! :)

While the author has taken care to provide our readers with accurate information, please use your discretion before acting upon information based on the blog post. Amsys will not compensate you in any way whatsoever if you ever happen to suffer a loss/inconvenience/damage because of/while making use of information in this blog.


Share this post online:


Leave a Reply